Ján Tóth

Ján Tóth
Chairman of the Council

Mgr. Jan Toth, M.A. is a graduate of the Faculty of Management at Comenius University. In 1995 he graduated Magna Cum Laude at the W. Barton School of Business, Wichita State University, USA. In 1996, he received his M.A. in economics from The Ohio State University, USA, where he passed his doctoral field exams in macro, monetary and international economics. He taught micro and macroeconomics as a research assistant, there.

In 1998, he joined Slovak Tatra Bank first as a research economist, later as the Chief Economist and Strategist. From 1999 to 2008, he worked as Chief Economist and Director of Research at ING Bank (formerly ING Barings) in Slovakia. Then he moved to Chief Economist position at a local UniCredit Bank. During 2010 to 2012, he worked as the Director of the Institute of Financial Policy and the Chief Economist at the Slovak Ministry of Finance. He was responsible for the macroeconomic and tax forecasts of the Government of the Slovak Republic and was a member of the Debt and Liquidity Management Committee. During 2010-2017 he represented the Slovak Republic at the Economic Policy Committee at the OECD. At the end of 2012, the President appointed him the Deputy Governor of the Slovak central bank responsible for the monetary policy. He was a member of the Monetary Policy Committee at the ECB and regularly attended monetary policy meetings of the Governing Council.

Toth has completed several trainings at the International Center for Monetary and Banking Studies in Geneva, the IMF Institute in Vienna and Washington, Northwestern University, the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics, the NY Fed, the Bank of England and the Swiss National Bank. He was a member of the Scientific Board of the Faculty of Management at Comenius University and Chairman of the Slovak Association of Economic Analysts during the years 2002 - 2012. He regularly lectures on Economic Policy in Slovakia as a joint lecture for 4 Slovak universities.
Beginning of chairmanship: 18 September 2020
End of chairmanship: 17 September 2027